ROOM REVIEW

Room by Emma Donoghue

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

This isn’t the type of book that I would usually pick for myself to read, but I had my eye on it for a few months, ever since one of my Goodreads groups chose it for their BOTM.

Then three weeks ago for my birthday, a friend of mine gave me the book. She said it was a bit different, but that she loved it, and that I had to read it. So I did.

It took me a while to get used to the writing, I’m so used to reading novels from the POV of a sixteen-year-old female, and so to read from the perspective of a five-year-old male was very different for me.

The book took me a bit longer to read than most other books of its size that I’ve read. Truthfully, I almost DNF on several occasions, but I’m glad I didn’t.

Room didn’t really begin to engage me until around page 120. After that, I really started to get into it. Another 30 pages later, I was bored again.

Around page 170, things started to get a lot more interesting. Everything looked as though it was about to be resolved, and I was panicking because I was only halfway through the book.

I was still intrigued for quite a while, but then my interest slowly began to decline again.

Page 300 and onward was probably my least favourite part of the book, but I did like aspects of it, particularly the ending. That is how you end a book.

I could hate the entire book but find it impossible to hate the ending, because some authors just know how to end a book. Emma Donoghue is one of them.

THE REST OF THIS REVIEW WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS!

The book is split into three sections; Before, After and Living.

Before takes place during the time that Jack and his Ma are stuck in Room.

I found most of this section incredibly dull. I understood though that it’s length and detail was highly necessary for the rest of the book, so I did my best to power through it.

It was the section that took me the longest to read.

After takes place during the aftermath of Jack and Ma being freed from Room, and from Old Nick.

This was my favourite section, but it still took me a bit to get through parts of it.

I liked seeing Jack’s reaction to everything in the world, but sometimes he just annoyed me. I had to keep reminding myself that he was a five-year-old boy who had never seen anything outside of the same four walls.

Living takes place once Jack starts to stay with his Grandmother.

This section was okay… I enjoyed aspects of it. I found his Grandmother incredibly irritating, but I liked Leo.

I loved the ending of the book, and it’s by far my favourite part of the book.

END SPOILERS!

Overall, I did enjoy this book, and I think it’s worth giving a go if you need something to read.

This review is also on my Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/48457755-jaide

Byeeeeee ❤

Leave a Reply

