Throne of Glass Review: Spoilers!

 Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: 4/5

I really liked how fast-paced this novel was. It was never boring at any point, and I kept needing more. For a novel of this size, it usually would have taken me a day or two longer to read it, but I couldn’t put it down.

Can I just say, the King is an evil little nincompoop? Enough said.

Am I the only one who can’t pronounce any of the names in this novel? I couldn’t take some scenes seriously because I kept pronouncing ‘Chaol’ as ‘Kale’ and I kept laughing. Oopsies…

I really liked that the romance was slow, and kept building throughout the story, but without all that much romance actually happening between the characters. It was a nice change from instalove.

A love triangle. Of course there’s a love triangle. I typically enjoy reading about love triangles, and this was no exception. I also keep hearing about someone called Rowan on the internet. Is a love square coming in future novels? I hated Dorian in the beginning of this novel. He was too self-righteous and confident. I wanted to smash something into that pretty little head of his. Chaol, on the other hand, I began to like only a few chapters in. How the tables have turned! I love Dorian, and really want him to be with Celaena, and whilst I like Chaol, if he ends up with Celaena I am going to break something. And of course, scream. I think the one constant, the only person I liked throughout the entire novel, is Celaena.

I found it interesting to read about an assassin who had compassion. Celaena had a lot. A few examples would be her compassion for Nehemia, especially when the 500 rebels were killed, and also her compassion for Fleetfoot, whom would have probably been killed without her interference.

Fleetfoot is adorable. I want myself a Fleetfoot.

I liked that at the end of the novel, Celaena ceased to be with Dorian, but she was still happy. It frustrates me in novels where the girl breaks up with the guy, (or vice versa), and the girl cries, or cries when she’s walking away or whatever. NO. You don’t need a freakin’ man to be happy in life. I really liked that about Celaena.

HER SASS. How can you not love Celaena’s sass? It was amazing.

At some point or another in this novel, I suspected almost everyone of being the person who was killing the champions. I think the only people I didn’t suspect were Celaena, Dorian, Chaol, Fleetfoot and Cain. I loved that Maas kept me guessing, and made me constantly doubt everyone. I suspected the King, Nehemia, even Nox. I can’t believe it was one of the only people I didn’t suspect that it ended up being. Like Celaena, as soon as I found out it was Cain I felt stupid, like it was obviously him, but we just didn’t realise it. I really liked that Maas made innocent people look guilty and guilty people look innocent. And a few guilty people look guilty. *cough cough* The King *cough cough*

One thing that I didn’t like about this novel would have to be the jumps in time. All of a sudden it’s two weeks later. What happened in those two weeks? Why not write about them? It’s something that has always, always bugged me in novels. I guess it makes sense, because the novel takes place over a matter of months, and to fit in every week, every challenge and every death would take up a bit of space in the novel, but it has always annoyed me in novels.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I’m excited to see what Maas does with the rest of the series. (:

Byeeeeee ❤

3 thoughts on “Throne of Glass Review: Spoilers!

  1. Emily says:

    ToG is my second favorite series ever. The love triangle between Celaena/Chaol/Dorian isn’t really a love triangle.. Also Rowan comes into play in book three and there is definitely no love square there. 😊

    Glad you enjoyed the book and can’t wait for your review of the next one!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

